Archive for May, 2010

Guest Day Results 5/25 (Fran)

Game: Most Pars: Each player earns a point for net par or better on each hole. The team score is the total points of the 4 players.

We had 36 ladies come out to play even though we had iffy weather forecasts. The weather was wonderful, the rain held off until we were all finished and enjoying our lunches. Here are the results:

Guest Flight Team Score Balls Member Only Flight Team Score Balls
1st Place Frances Shipilov 54 4 ea Jill Chase 47 4 ea
Nancy Lencioni Grace Berend
Kay Boscia Kay Smith
Linda Stebbins Sonja Welin
2nd Place Cathy Fancey 53 3 ea
Nancy Kramer
Anne O’Prey
MaryAnn Hansen

CHIP-INS AND BIRDIES:

Chip Ins Hole Birdies Hole
Judy Bartoli 15 Debbie Martin 11
Liz Lord 15 Cathy Fancey 8
Sondi Schnee 15 Nancy Kramer 2
Dana Wardstrom 16 Christina Gray 14
Christina Gray 15 Diane Sevim 17
Donna Reich 12 Milly Coldwell 3
Milly Coldwell 10

CLOSEST TO THE PIN:

MEMBER HOLE #2 DISTANCE GUEST HOLE # 17 DISTANCE
Nancy Kramer 3’ 10” None
Advertisements

Play Day Results 5/18 (Fran)

Game: Crystal Ball – BEFORE beginning their round, each Player had to select a Par 3, Par 4 and Par 5 that would be tossed out from their final score. Very tricky selecting before playing the holes.

We had 28 ladies come out to play and the weather was glorious. Here are the results:

1st Flight Score Sweeps 2nd Flight Score Sweeps 3rd Flight Score Sweeps
1st Place Frances Shipilov 53 $6.00 Jill Chase 51 $6.00 Sonja Welin 48 $6.00
2nd Place Nancy Kramer 54 $5.00 Marti Fowler 52 $5.00 Bonnie Ladd 49 $5.00
3rd Place Debbie Martin 56 $1.00 Mary Watkins 54 $1.50 Donna Reich 53 $3.00
3rd Place T Kay Smith 56 $1.00 Jan McCleery 54 $1.50
3rd Place T Nancy Lencioni 56 $1.00

CHIP-INS AND BIRDIES:

Chip Ins Hole Birdies Hole
Nancy Lencioni 3 Debbie Martin 17
Donna Johnson 10 & 15 Nancy Lencioni 17
Janet Brown 4 Sonja Welin 7
Donna Reich 17 Mary Watkins 6
Sondi Schnee 17
Joanne Smith 17

CLOSEST TO THE PIN:

HOLE HANDICAPS 0 – 25 DISTANCE HANDICAPS 26 – 36 DISTANCE
2 Frances Shipilov 25’ 1” Mary Watkins 4’ 4.5”
7 Frances Shipilov 13’ 2” Sonja Welin 4’ 1”
14 Hilary Frigillana 18’ 7” Raquel Myers 17’ 1.5”
17 Nancy Lencioni 2’ 3” Joanne Smith 2’ 2.5”

Pilings on Hole #12 (Frances)

There has been some discussion about how to play a ball that comes to rest against the pilings on the cart path on Hole #12. After much discussion with the Pro Shop, our Rules Chairperson and even some of the male club members, there is agreement that the way that the Discovery Bay Country Club has set up the markings for hazards and boundaries they have designated the wood pilings that line the cart path and lateral water hazard on hole #12 to be a part of the course. Although these pilings are on the lateral hazard margin, and line this hazard, the Club allows relief to be taken. A player may find their “nearest point of relief,” no closer to the hole, on the grass alongside the cart path and drop a ball.

However, this does not apply if the ball is on the “bridge” portion of the cart path. If the ball comes to rest on the bridge, it is considered in the hazard. (It may be played from the bridge, without penalty, if the player so desires).

If you have any questions regarding this situation, please feel free to ask Hilary or me for clarification.

Happy Golfing… Frances

May Rules Quiz (Hilary)

Hi Ladies:

Are you ready? The sun is out and it’s quiz time.

Here we go…………………

1. Which of the following are loose impediments?
a) Your crazy fellow competitor
b) A wooden bench
c) A paper cup with your coffee and kahlua in
d) Pebbles, leaves, a banana peel







Answer: d) Definition of Loose Impediments

2. In stroke play, both your ball and a large pine cone lie in the same bunker. The pine cone is directly in front of the ball. Which one of the following is correct?

a) You may remove the pine cone without penalty before making your stroke in the bunker
b) Under penalty of one stroke you may place the ball anywhere in the bunker
c) You may play the ball as it lies or proceed under Rule 28 Unplayable Lie
d) Without penalty you may drop the ball within one club length of the nearest point of relief.







Answer: c) Rule 13-4. You are not allowed to touch or move a loose impediment lying in a bunker. (Using Rule 28 Unplayable lie in a bunker you have three options which all cost you one stroke and under options b and c you must DROP the ball in the bunker)

3) In match play you’re on the green and you mark and lift your ball and then you accidentally drop it, striking and moving your opponent’s ball. What is the ruling?
a) Blame your shaky hand on the kahlua in your cart and offer your opponent a drink
b) You are not penalized and both balls must be replaced
c) You lose the hole
d) You incur one penalty stroke and the balls must be replaced.







Answer: d) Rule 18-3b, 18/7.5, and Definition of “Equipment”. A ball that has been lifted is no longer in play and is “equipment” so sadly you get a one stroke penalty.

4) In stroke play you hit your ball into some thick rough and search for it for 5 minutes and can’t find it. You look for another minute, find your ball and play it. What is the ruling?

a) There is no penalty
b) There is a two stroke penalty for delay of play
c) There is a two stroke penalty for playing a wrong ball







Answer: c) Your ball was lost and therefore “out of play” when the five minutes expired. It’s a two stroke penalty, or loss of hole in match play. You must return to where you last played and play from there under Rule 27-1, stroke and distance. You will be disqualified if you continue and play from the next tee.

5) Remember that cup of kahlua you have in your cart that you thought earlier in question #1 could be a loose impediment, and later gave you shaky hands, well the empty cup flies onto the green and your ball comes to rest inside it.
Wow we really can imagine that happening eh? But things might be getting better as the wind blows it closer to the hole. What is the ruling?

a) Ban all kahlua/coffee drinkers and paper cups from the course
b) You must play the ball from its new position as the wind is not an outside agency
c) You must lift the ball and place it as near as possible at the spot directly under the place where it was inside the cup before the wind blew it.
d) Drink your kahlua directly out of the bottle next time.







Answer: c) Rule 18-1/7. The whole point of this very complicated story is to remind you that: If your ball is moved by an outside agency, such as your cup, you must replace it to where it was before. If it is moved by the wind, which is not an outside agency, you play it where it now lies.
As your ball was in the cup, and the cup, an outside agency,was moved by the wind, the cup is responsible.

After these questions we all need a drink!

I hope you enjoyed this crazy quiz and it helps you.

Hilary


Roster & Calendar

2018 Roster     (as of 6/22/18)
2018 Calendar (as of 1/7/18)

Blog Stats

  • 12,712 hits
Advertisements