Archive for May, 2013

Sprinkler heads local rule

A player’s ball lies on the apron of the putting green and there is a sprinkler head on their intended line of putt. May they take relief from the sprinkler head?

It is common for Committees and golf courses to introduce a Local Rule when there are sprinkler heads close to the putting green. This is the specimen Local Rule provided in Appendix l of the Rules book;

“Relief from interference by an immovable obstruction may be taken under Rule 24-2. In addition, if a ball lies off the putting green but not in a hazard and an immovable obstruction on or within two club-lengths of the putting green and within two club-lengths of the ball intervenes on the line of play between the ball and the hole; the player may take relief as follows:

The ball must be lifted and dropped at the nearest point to where the ball lay that (a) is not nearer the hole, (b) avoids intervention and (c) is not in a hazard or on a putting green. The ball may be cleaned when lifted.”

So ladies now we have seen the picture, read the local Rule what does this means to us and what do we do?

1. We see from the picture that the sprinkler head is directly on our line of putt and the ball is within two club lengths of the sprinkler head. This means that we can, if we want, use the local Rule that Discovery Bay is putting on our score card.

2. You may drop your ball within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, not nearer the hole, the ball may be cleaned when lifted under this Rule but how do we do this?

3. a) First do not pick up your ball until you are SURE you want to take relief. Once you have pick it up you cannot change your mind.

b) Determining the nearest point of relief will depend on whether you are right or left-handed
.

c) You should take your putter; take an address position where there is no interference from the sprinkler head. The nearest point of relief is where the club head is grounded and is the closest spot in play, no nearer the hole, free from the obstruction. At this point, the specific spot on the course has been determined.

d) You should mark this spot with a tee and you may now get the longest club out of your bag to measure the one club length. Mark the club length with a second tee.

e) If you are sure you want to proceed pick up your ball, and drop it within that club length you have marked Once you drop the ball and the ball hits the course within the measured one club length and does not move closer to the hole, or does not roll more than two club lengths your ball is in play.

f) If the ball rolls closer to the hole, more than two club lengths or there is still interference you have to do it all over again. After two attempts you may place the ball where it first hit the course as long as it is within the club length you measured and not closer to the hole.

You may not choose the nicest point of relief; you may only drop within a club-length of the nearest point of relief, not nearer the hole. For this reason you should always determine where the nearest point is before you lift your ball, in case it happens to be in a position that is even more unfavorable than your current lie.

Watching this video should help

I hope this helps you putt happy
Hilary

Advertisements

USGA Prohibits Anchored Strokes

Ladies:

Here is the “Official” announcement from the USGA re anchored strokes and the use of belly putters. It will not be in effect until 2016 when the new edition of the Rules book is published.

You will all go “belly up” after then! Ha!
Hilary

USGA AND THE R&A ANNOUNCE FINAL APPROVAL OF RULE 14-1B THAT PROHIBITS USE OF ANCHORED STROKES

See the USGA announcement below.

usga_templatelogo.jpgRandA_pms281copy79x79.jpg

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

USGA AND THE R&A ANNOUNCE FINAL APPROVAL OF RULE 14-1B
THAT PROHIBITS USE OF ANCHORED STROKES
Governing Bodies Issue Report Explaining Their Decision Following Comment Process
New Rule to Take Effect on January 1, 2016, Allowing for Transitional Period
Belly-Length and Long Putters Remain as Conforming Clubs

Far Hills, N.J., USA and St Andrews, Scotland (May 21, 2013) – The United States Golf Association (USGA) and The R&A, golf’s governing bodies, today announced the adoption of Rule 14-1b of the Rules of Golf that prohibits anchoring the club in making a stroke. The new Rule will take effect on January 1, 2016, in accordance with the regular four-year cycle for changes to the Rules of Golf.
Rule 14-1b, which was proposed on November 28, 2012, has now been given final approval by the USGA and The R&A following an extensive review by both organizations. The decision to adopt the new Rule came after a comprehensive process in which comments and suggestions from across the golf community were collected and thoroughly considered.
The USGA and The R&A have prepared a detailed report to explain the reasons for the decision to adopt Rule 14-1b. The report explains the principles on which the Rules of Golf are founded, why freely swinging the entire club is the essence of the traditional method of stroke, and why anchoring is a substantially different form of stroke that may alter and diminish the fundamental challenges of the game. It points out that the Rule will still allow the use of belly-length and long putters and that a wide variety of types of strokes remain for players to use. The report concludes that the new Rule should not adversely affect participation in the game, that it is not too late or unfair to require players to comply with it and that it will remove concerns about any potential advantage that anchoring provides. It also makes clear that one set of Rules is essential to the future health of the game. The report, entitled Explanation of Decision to Adopt Rule 14-1b of the Rules of Golf, can be found at www.usga.org/anchoring or at www.RandA.org/anchoring.
“Having considered all of the input that we received, both before and after the proposed Rule was announced, our best judgment is that Rule 14-1b is necessary to preserve one of the important traditions and challenges of the game – that the player freely swing the entire club,” said USGA President Glen D. Nager. “The new Rule upholds the essential nature of the traditional method of stroke and eliminates the possible advantage that anchoring provides, ensuring that players of all skill levels face the same challenge inherent in the game of golf.”
Peter Dawson, Chief Executive of The R&A said: “We took a great deal of time to consider this issue and received a variety of contributions from individuals and organisations at all levels of the game. The report published today gives a comprehensive account of the reasons for taking the decision to adopt the new Rule and addresses the concerns that have been raised. We recognise this has been a divisive issue but after thorough consideration we remain convinced that this is the right decision for golf.”
The current Rule 14-1 of the Rules of Golf will be re-numbered as Rule 14-1a, and new Rule 14-1b will be established as follows:
14-1b Anchoring the Club
In making a stroke, the player must not anchor the club, either “directly” or by use of an “anchor point.”
Note 1: The club is anchored “directly” when the player intentionally holds the club or a gripping hand in contact with any part of his body, except that the player may hold the club or a gripping hand against a hand or forearm.
Note 2: An “anchor point” exists when the player intentionally holds a forearm in contact with any part of his body to establish a gripping hand as a stable point around which the other hand may swing the club.
Rule 14-1b will not alter current equipment rules and allows for the continued use of all conforming golf clubs, including belly-length and long putters, provided such clubs are not anchored during a stroke. The new Rule narrowly targets only a few types of strokes, while preserving a golfer’s ability to play a wide variety of strokes in his or her individual style.
The January 1, 2016, timetable for implementation also provides an extended period in which golfers may, if necessary, adapt their method of stroke to the requirements of the new Rule.
David Rickman, Executive Director of Rules and Equipment Standards at The R&A, said: “This Rule change addresses the future and not the past. Everyone who has used an anchored stroke in the past, or who does so between now and January 1, 2016, will have played entirely within the Rules and their achievements will in no way be diminished.”
“The discussion around the Rule has been very helpful, and we appreciate that so many different perspectives were offered,” said USGA Executive Director Mike Davis. “We know that not everyone will agree with the new Rule, but it is our hope that all golfers will accept that this decision is reasoned and motivated by our best judgment in defining the sport and serving the best interests of the game.”
For more information about the adopted Rule, including a demonstration video, photos, infographics, and a Guidance Document for Players and Officials, visit www.usga.org/anchoring or www.RandA.org/anchoring.
# # #

About the USGA
The USGA conducts the U.S. Open, U.S. Women’s Open and U.S. Senior Open, as well as 10 national amateur championships, two state team championships and international matches. Together with The R&A, the USGA governs the game worldwide, jointly administering the Rules of Golf, Rules of Amateur Status, Equipment Standards and World Amateur Golf Rankings. The USGA’s working jurisdiction comprises the United States, its territories and Mexico.
The USGA is a global leader in the development and support of sustainable golf course management practices. It serves as a primary steward for the game’s history and funds an ongoing “For the Good of the Game” charitable giving program. Additionally, the USGA’s Course Rating and Handicap systems are used on six continents in more than 50 countries.
For more information about the USGA, visit www.usga.org.

About The R&A
R&A Rules Ltd is the rules-making company of The R&A. Based in St Andrews, The R&A organises The Open Championship, major amateur events and international matches. Together with the United States Golf Association, The R&A governs the game worldwide, jointly administering the Rules of Golf, Rules of Amateur Status, Equipment Standards and World Amateur Golf Rankings. The R&A’s working jurisdiction is global, excluding the United States and Mexico.
The R&A is committed to working for golf and supports the growth of the game internationally and the development and management of sustainable golf facilities. The R&A operates with the consent of 149 organisations from the amateur and professional game and on behalf of over thirty million golfers in 135 countries.
For more information about The R&A visit www.RandA.org.

Media Contacts:
Joe Goode, USGA Communications
jgoode; (908) 470-5008
Mobile: (908) 635-0412

Dan Hubbard, USGA Communications
dhubbard; (908) 470-1136
Mobile: (860) 248-9616

Malcolm Booth, The R&A
MalcolmBooth
+44 (0)1334 460000
+44 (0)7917 759042

Mike Woodcock, The R&A
MikeWoodcock
+44 (0)1334 460000
+44 (0)7584 071246
C 2013 United States Golf Association. All Rights Reserved.

Tracking.aspx?Data=HHL%3d%3b062%3a%26JDG%3c%3d1%40.60.LP%3f%40083%3a&Action=Open+Campaign&RE=MC&RI=4057989&Preview=False&Content=True&SuppressCacheGUID=d4a98068-626b-42ef-9df5-37de91e4048e

If you would rather not receive future communications from United States Golf Association, let us know by clicking here.
United States Golf Association, 77 Liberty Corner Rd, Far Hills, NJ 07931-2570 United States

Explanation of Decision to Adopt Rule 14-1B of the Rules of Golf.docx

Spring Handicap Tournament Results

Hello Ladies,

Here are the results for the Spring Handicap Tournament. Thanks again to all the ladies that participated.

Chip-In’s
$9.50 Per Day

Tuesday (5/7/13)
Donna Reich #3 – $9.50

Thursday (5/9/13)
Jeanne Zweamer #7 – $3.25
Cathy Fancey #1 and #14 $6.50

Tuesday (5/14/13)
Anne Wangeman #17 – $4.75
Fe Estrera #3 – $4.75

And now the Results:
FLIGHT TWO:
1st Place – DEBORAH VEATCH with a score of 213
2nd Place – CINDY RENSHAW with a score of 216
3rd Place – FE ESTRERA with a score of 219

FLIGHT ONE:
1st Place – DONNA REICH with a score of 214
2nd Place – JILL CHASE with a score of 219
3rd Place – SHELLY MORGAN with a score of 223

OVERALL SPRING HANDICAP TOURNAMNET LOW NET WINNER IS…..
TINA GRAY with a score of 208

Great Job!!

My apologizes to Shelly for incorrectly announcing the wrong 3rd place winner at the lunch today.

Dana


Roster & Calendar

2018 Roster     (as of 6/18/18)
2018 Calendar (as of 1/7/18)

Blog Stats

  • 12,493 hits
Advertisements