Archive for April, 2015

Tips for Spring Handicap Tournament play

Ladies: Our Spring Handicap tournament starts next week, be prepared.

Tournament play is more stressful than regular play days as more is on the line, the chance to be the Champion or place in your flight! With this in mind we should be sure to follow golf etiquette and the Rules of Golf. Consideration should be shown to others on the course at all times. Make each day of the tournament a pleasant experience for your fellow competitors and yourself.

Pace of Play

Nothing is more annoying than slow play. Long waits to make your shots ruins your rhythm and slows down the whole field.

Keep up with the group in front.

Take all the clubs to your ball that you “may” need for your next shot.

Do not take excessive time over the ball or an excessive number of practice swings.

Be prepared to step up and putt when it is your turn. Check out your line and speed of putt while others are putting. Be ready.

As soon as everyone has putted out leave the green quickly. You can put your clubs back in your bag at the next tee box.

If you bring clubs to the green leave them on the line of your exit path. This way you will not be wasting time retrieving your clubs that are on the other side of the green.

If you walk make sure you leave your push cart away from the front of the green so it is out of the way of players hitting behind you. Put your cart on your exit path.

Write the scores on the scorecard at the NEXT tee box.

Etiquette

Be courteous. Do not talk or make a noise while your fellow competitors are hitting or setting up for their shot.

Be patient. If your fellow competitor is playing badly help them by moving their cart if needed.

If your ball is on the green and your fellow competitors are still hitting up from the fairway do not stand on the green in the line of play. It is very distracting for players hitting to the green to see you on their line of flight and dangerous for you!

Rules

Do not be early or late for your tee time. Tee off at your designated time.

Check that your handicap is correct on your scorecard.

Do not ask for or give advice.

If a ball is on your line of play or distracting for your next shot ask your fellow competitor to lift their ball and mark it. (Rule/Decision 22/1)

If you want to play a Provisional ball because your ball may be lost or out of bounds tell your fellow competitors before you hit the Provisional ball.

If you are unsure how to play your ball using a Rule you may play two balls, your ball in play and a second ball. Before you hit both balls decide which of the two you want to count if it is played by the Rules. Complete the hole with both balls and put both scores on your score card. Do not sign your card and bring it to the Committee for a decision. (Rule 3-3)

If you believe that you, or a fellow competitor, have broken a Rule and may have incurred a penalty do not sign the score card and bring the question to the Tournament Committee at the end of your round.

Double check all your scores for EVERY hole before you sign your scorecard. Check your addition. Do not be DISQUALIFIED because you made a scoring mistake.

I hope this helps you.
Hilary

Advertisements

4/29/15 Results

We had 42 ladies on a nice calm day today.

Congratulations to

Guest Flight 1st place
Dana Wardstrom
Annette Krey
Lin Lenson
Lisa Ferrante

Guest Flight 2nd place
Kelly Vik
Linda Stebbins
France’s Shiplov
Brenda Reisinger

Members Flight 1st place
Barbara Mench
Gay Wold
Jeanne Zwemer
Sandy Smith

Members Flight 2nd place
Kris Rogers
Susan Leeper
Jadine Hodgen

Chips each worth $ 10.50
Sherry Boyd
Frances Shiplov

Birdies
Becky Frazier #8
Lisa Ferrante # 6 & 7
Dana Wardstrom #7,11 &14
Lin Lenson #17
Shelley Morgan #7 & 14
Gay Wold #14
Sherry Boyd #17
Kay Richmond #17
Debbie Martin #1
Frances Shiplov #8

Closest to the pin member
#2 Sandy Smith. 13’9″
#14 Shelley Morgan 5’3″

Closest to the pin guest
#7 Lisa Ferrante 4′
#17 Kay Richmond. 14’2″

4/21/15 Results

Hello Ladies,

We had 32 ladies play today and two (2) no shows.
I wanted to also welcome again Kelly Vik and Jadine Hodgen to our group.

Today’s game was “Give me a break” You got to subtract one par 3, one par 4 and one par 5 then substract your handicap and that was your game score.

Birdies:
Janet Winslow #8
Raquel Myers #14
Kelly Vik #8
Gay Wold #10
Dana Wardstrom #1 and #17
Annette Krey #3, #6 and #11

Chip In’s ($16.00 each)
Jeanne Zweamer #15
Gay Wold #15

Closest to the Pin ($4.00 each)
0-28
#2 Mary Watkins 14′ 10″
#7 Hilary Frigillana 11′ 8″
#14 Peggie Schuitemaker 10′ 6″
#17 Dana Wardstrom 7′ 11″

29-36
#2 –
#7 Chris Myall 9′ 3″
#14 Raquel Myers 16′ 2″
#17 Kelly Vik 13′

We had three flights
First Flight
1st/2nd – Dana Wardstrom & Hilary Frigillana with a score of 49
3rd/4th – Jeanne Zweamer & Peggie Schuitemaker with a score of 52

Second Flight
1st – Kelly Vik with a score of 46
2nd/3rd – Brenda Reisinger and Deborah Veatch with a score of 49
4th – Bonnie Ladd with a score of 51

Third Flight
1st – Charlene Kleiner with a score of 48
2nd/3rd/4th – Sally Sturney, Sandy Mize and Doris Bunnell with a score of 51.

Thanks again for playing today
Next week is guest day so you have until Sunday at noon to sign up.

Dana

Diablo Team play update

WE have had our first 2 matches of the season. April 9 at Orinda and April 14, we hosted at Discovery Bay.

Our opponent at Orinda was Rossmoor. Our player were Annette, Lin, Cathy Houston, Jenny, Patty, Shelly, Cathy Fancey and Jeanne. Weather was really nice and we did ok. Patty and Shelly played played great and won 21 total points. Annette and Lin 18 points, and Cathy F and Jeanne 16 points and Cathy H and Jenny 11 points. We wish we could have done a little better but that’s golf!

On April 14 at Discovery Bay our opponent was Castlewood. Players were Annette, Lin, Dana, Cathy H, Becky, Jenny, Patty and Shelly. Dana and Cathy and Becky and Jenny had great matches and won 22 points and 21 points. Patty and Shelly did ok and won 15 points but Annette and Lin had a rough day and only won 12 points. Those Castlewood A girls could not miss. I did almost get into a fight with them on the 15th green. I was putting for par and they were in with par so they asked me why I was putting, they thought I was laying 5 and they had won the hole. I told her no i was laying 4 and explained my 4 shots to get there. She told me there was no way I could be there in 4 because she had hit two great shots and I couldn’t have possibly been as far as she was. Really!! We argued for about 45 seconds and she kept giving me this look like I was a big cheater. Then she said oh ok whatever, I hope you make the putt. I did make the putt and I won that half point!!!

Our next match is at Castlewood on April 30th and we have to play against Castlewood again. You play the same team at your course and at their course. So I will be seeking my revenge.

Right now we are in 5th place gross, and somewhere near the bottom in net. There are 10 teams in our league, Orinda, Discovery Bay, Castlewood, Moraga, Round Hill, Crow Canyon, Rossmoor, Diablo, Contra Costa and Blackhawk.

thanks Annette

A “Whoopsies” Rules Quiz

Hi Ladies:

Quizzes are back……enjoy!

A “Whoopsies” Rules Quiz

Questions 1,2,3 are Stroke play, 4,5,6 Match play.

1. Elizabeth is playing Stroke play and she putts from the green and her ball strikes her clubs that are on the fringe. Whoops. What is her penalty?
a. One stroke
b. No penalty
c. Two strokes

2. Mary Lou is playing Stroke play and putts from the green and her ball hits her fellow competitor’s clubs that are on the fringe. Whoops. What is her penalty?
a. Two strokes
b. One stroke
c. No penalty

3. Sandy is playing Stroke play and her ball is in the bunker. She strikes her ball too softly and accidentally hits her ball twice. Whoops. What is her penalty?
a. One stroke penalty
b. Two stroke penalty
c. Ignore it happened!

4. Rebecca is playing Match play and her putt from the green strikes the clubs of her Opponent. Whoops. What is her penalty?
a. Loss of hole
b. One stroke penalty
c. No penalty

5. Amanda is playing Match play and her putt from the green hits her own clubs that are on the fringe. Whoops. What is her penalty?
a. One stroke
b. Loss of hole
c. No penalty

6. Pat is playing Match play and her ball goes in the water hazard. She drops a ball within two club lengths of where it last crossed the hazard, but accidentally
hits her own club that is on the ground. Whoops. Apart from the one stroke penalty for going in the water, does she incur any additional penalty ?
a. Loss of hole
b. No additional penalty
c. One stroke additional penalty

Whoopsies” answers

1. a. As the clubs belong to Elizabeth there is a one stroke penalty and the ball must be played where it lies, Rule 19-2.

2. c. As the clubs belong to a Fellow competitor (Stroke play) there is no penalty, it is “the rub of the green”. The ball must be played where is lies.

3. a. One stroke penalty, Rule 14-4. Sandy counts her stroke and adds one penalty stroke.

4. c. No penalty as the clubs belong to the Opponent (Match play). However Rebecca has two options.

1) Cancel her stroke and repeat the putt, Rule 19-3 or 2) Play the ball as it lies.

5. a. One stroke penalty, and play the ball where it lies, Rule 19-2. (Both Stroke and Match play incur the same penalty.)

6. b. Pat gets no additional penalty. In both Match and Stroke play when you drop a ball under a Rule you must re-drop if you hit your equipment, Rule 20-2.
There is no limit to how many times you may do this, but your partners will call you a klutz!

I hope this helps you,
Hilary

Spring Handicap Information

Email from Dana:
———————-
Hello Ladies,

After listening to everyone and talking with Annette, The Spring Handicap Tournament will be the best two (2) out of three (3) rounds.

We will play May 5th, 7th and 12th. I have the attached the rules and info sheets.

I hope to see on fourtees the ladies that asked for the 2 out of the 3. I know the ladies that we at the meeting.

If you have any questions, please email me.

Thank you,
Dana Wardstrom

Rules and Information:
Tournament Information
Tournament Rules

Final answer in Golf “Rules survey”

Ladies:

I first want to thank all those who took part in my Rules survey; it helped me have more insight for my future Rules quizzes. I hope I have answered all your questions.

Drum roll please……..Here is the final “Survey says” question. So that there is no misunderstanding this time I will be giving Rules/Decisions references.

The infamous hole #12. Question #3

What may you do if your ball lands on the bridge that crosses the water hazard mid-way across the fairway on hole #12?

The bridge itself is an Obstruction which is IN the water hazard, and as such is covered by Rule/Decision13-4/30. However the bridge is not “ground in the hazard” so:

You may hit your ball as it lies on the bridge, and ground your club. There is no penalty if you do this.

If you do not want to hit your ball from the bridge, and as the bridge is IN the water hazard, you may take relief, under penalty of one stroke, under Rule26-1, Water hazards.

The stakes defining the water across the fairway are yellow, but the stakes lining the bridge are red defining a lateral hazard, as many bridges on courses are, so you may:

Drop a ball within two club lengths of the bridge on the grass.

Hit a ball from where you hit before.

Drop a ball as far back as you like in line with you ball and the pin.

If you ball is on the bridge, but rests in the pilings, you have the same options.

Below I have pasted a link to an excellent article which explains this “Ball on bridge over a water hazard situation”.

http://lindamillergolf.blogspot.com/2009/01/ask-linda-99-ball-on-bridge-in-hazard.html

That’s it for the Survey.
Hilary


Roster & Calendar

2018 Roster     (as of 6/22/18)
2018 Calendar (as of 8/31/18)

Blog Stats

  • 12,856 hits
Advertisements