Archive for March, 2016

Ok or NOT OK Rules quiz


Here is our first Rules quiz for 2016.

7 questions for an OK or Not OK answer…..

A player in a stroke play event asks a fellow-competitor the distance from the teeing ground to clear a fairway bunker.

OK: Distances to objects are public information (Decision 8-1/2)

A player, while waiting to play a stroke in the fairway, chips a ball back and forth with their partner.

Not-OK: A player cannot practice on course during a round (other than between holes as specified) – two stroke penalty (Rule 7-2)

A player while waiting to play a stroke in the fairway does some “housekeeping”, replacing some divots including one on his line of play but not near his ball.

Not-OK: Player improved their line of play (Rule 13-2 and Decision 13-2/6)
Two stroke penalty.

A player’s ball is on a hillside, as the player approaches they see their ball roll down the hill and out of bounds. The player retrieves ball, replaces it on the original spot and plays from there.

Not-OK: Ball was out of bounds – This is most likely to be called a serious breach in stroke play as the player may have gained a significant advantage from playing from a wrong place. The penalty is disqualification.
If your ball goes out of bounds at any time take a one stroke penalty and play from where the previous stroke was made. (Rule 27-1b and Rule 20-7)

A player’s ball “might” be in a water hazard. The player drops a ball on their best estimate of the line from the hole and where they think it “might “have crossed the hazard. They play the dropped ball and hole out.

Not-OK: The Committee must determine if this a serious breach as it was not virtually certain ball is in water hazard. By playing from the wrong place in this situation the player could incur a three stroke penalty or be disqualified.
(Decision 26-1/3.7 and /4)

While a ball is in motion after a stroke, a player moves another player’s club to prevent the ball from striking the club.

OK: Equipment may be moved while ball is in motion (Rule 24-1)

A player takes relief from a lateral water hazard. They drop a ball which lands outside the allowed two club-length area but the ball rolls into the allowed two club-length area. The player plays the dropped ball.

Not-OK: Player incurs a two stroke penalty for breach of Rule 26-1. The ball must first strike course where prescribed by the Rule (Rules 20-2b, 20-6, 20-7 and 26-1c). If you drop in a wrong place, and do not play that ball, you can pick up your ball and re-drop it in the correct place without penalty, Rule 20-6.

I hope this helps you.

Posting scores and Practice rounds


In the Rules section of next month’s Discovery Bay CC Newsletter I will be writing about Rule 7, “Practice”. I’ll outline how it differs in stroke play and match play, and where can you make a practice stroke during a round. I will send you all a copy of this article in a couple of days.

As Shelly, our Handicap chair, recently correctly reminded us, post all your scores and make sure your scores are accurate.

However, I have been recently asked by some of our members, “Am I allowed to play a round of golf just for practice? What if I want to hit more than one ball on a hole, or try putting over again?” It would be scary to believe that players are not allowed to practice on their course. How better to learn how to play our course than trying different shots, especially in troublesome areas of the course, so we can improve our game.

The USGA Handicap System covers rounds which are not played under the Rules of Golf in section 5-1e (vii) and “Practice during a Round” is covered in Rule 7-2. If you hit two balls by trying different clubs from the same distance, or re try a missed putt to check the read you saw, you are obviously not playing under the Rules!

Here is a recent quote on this subject from the WGANC Ambassadors’ blog.

“The USGA Handicap System” and the Rules of Golf do not define a practice round and do not address declaring such prior to beginning play of a stipulated round. A basic premise of the “USGA Handicap System” is every player will try to make the best score on each hole in every round, and will accurately post every acceptable score. There are few exceptions in which a score should not be posted. When a player does not play a majority of the holes under the principles of the Rules of Golf, a score cannot be posted. An example is playing two balls on some holes. At any rate, it is unanimous that one should not declare a practice round after 4 or 5 holes.”

Many Rules’ experts and golf professionals believe players should be encouraged, and is acceptable, to play practice rounds. If you want to play a practice round make sure you are not delaying play, or more especially, interfering with your fellow players’ games that are not practicing. Tell your fellow players early in your game this is what you are doing, and do not post those scores as they are not played by the Rules.

All our Men’s club scores are audited by their Handicap committee, and when they play practice rounds they submit their scorecards with “practice” written on them.

Do not forget that Shelly very expertly said post your scores accurately whenever you play. However, don’t be scared to play a practice round sometimes. Practice on the range is excellent, practicing real play situations can be better! Just do it occasionally and at the appropriate time.

We are recreational golfers and need to improve our games and have fun at the same time. Practice, wherever it is, can make us perfect!

I hope this helps you.

March 22 Results

Hello ladies,

Today we had to play the back 9 twice so we played a better nine eclectic style.

There was 1 Chip-In today and it was worth $20.00
So Congrats to Patty Uyeno on hole #12.

We had no Birdies today.

We had 4 ladies in 3rd place with a score of 36 and each received $3.75.

Sondi Schnee
Joanne Leete
Julie Hanson
Carolyn Barnes

We had 2 ladies in 2nd place with a score of 35 and each received $ 8.00.

Shelly Morgan and Patty Uyeno

Our 1st place winner with a score of 33 and received $9.00

was Bonnie Ladd.

Remember, No play next Tuesday. We are hosting Team Play, so GO TEAM.


Guest Day 3/16 Results

Hello Ladies,

We had 37 ladies play today. The game was The Blarney Ball which game everyone an Irish Mulligan.

Annette Krey #6 & #17
Mary Watkins #14
April Guarascio #2

Kris Rogers #10
Terry Ketchel #14
Sandy Smith #13

We had 10 teams participate and here are the winning teams

1st Place

Brenda Reisinger
Jeanne Zweamer
Frances Shipilov

2nd Place

Sally Sturney
Doris Bunnell
Susan Leeper

3rd Place

Sandy Smith
April Guarascio
Sue Martin
Janet Winslow

4th Place

Dana Wardstrom
Jenny Dillon
Annette Krey
Becky Frazier

Thank you all for coming out and hope to see you next week when we play Easter Skins.


March 8th Results

Hello ladies,

We had 27 ladies play today and enjoyed the sunshine.

We had two birdies,

Lin Lenson #1 and Annette Krey #17

Chip-In’s ($6.75 each)
Joanne Smith #9
Sondi Schnee #14
Carolyn Barnes #5
Fe Estera #18

Closest -to-the-Pin ($3.50 each)
#2 Lin Lenson 8’9″ and Fe Estera 8’11”
#7 Lin Lenson 10’8″ and Kay Gschwend 18′ 3 1/2″
#14 Sherry Boyd 13′ 1/2″
#17 Annette Krey 13′ 6″ and Kay Gschwend 14′ 11″

We played Stableford and had two flights

Flight One (0-28)
1st Place Shelly Morgan with a score of 18 received $8.25
2nd/3rd Place Sandy Smith and Lin Lenson with a score of 16 received $6.75 each
4th Place Annette Krey with a score of 14 received $5.25

Flight Two
1st Place Kay Gschwend with a score of 17 received $8.25
2nd Place Brenda Reisinger with a score of 16 received $7.25
3rd/4th Place Bonnie Ladd and Sonja Welin with a score of 15 received $5.75 each.

Hope everyone had fun!
Reminder, Next week is guest day because we have team play on the last Tuesday of the month.

Also, I wanted to welcome Jan Todorovic to our group. She has played today and last Tuesday and I forgot to welcome her at lunch! So welcome Jan!!



Roster & Calendar


Roster     (as of 3/15/20)
Calendar (as of 1/10/20)

Recent Minutes

Blog Stats

  • 15,569 hits