Archive for February, 2017

The Hazards of Wintertime Golf

Ladies:

Here is my Rules article that will be in next month’s DBGCC Newsletter. I thought it would be good to let you read it now, especially if the brave ones are going to get out there this week and play in the mud and wind.

The Hazards of Wintertime Golf.

What are you allowed to do if your ball is in standing water, covered by leaves, covered in mud, or gets blown by the wind?

Standing Water

Due to the recent heavy rains there is standing water in many places on our course. What are you allowed to do when you find your ball in this water, or to make your shot your feet are in the water? Under the Rules of Golf “Casual water” (standing water) is considered an “Abnormal Ground Condition” and as such you are allowed free relief. To get this relief the water must be visible before or after you take your stance. The ground just being wet is not enough. You are allowed a one club length relief at the nearest point where the water no longer interferes, and then drop a ball making sure it is no closer to the hole. You are allowed to clean your ball before the drop, and there is no penalty.

Leaves covering your ball.

During this time of year it can be hard to find your ball, especially if it is covered by leaves. Be very careful when searching for your ball as if you accidentally move it during your search you will incur a one stroke penalty and your ball must be replaced. If you do find your ball covered in leaves you are allowed to remove them, as they are loose impediments, but be very careful. If you move your ball when removing the leaves you will get a one stroke penalty, and you must replace it, Rule 18-2.

Mud covering your ball.

When you are out on the course in the normal course of play simply remember that you are required to play the ball where is lies and in what state it lies in. We all would love to flick the mud off our ball, but as they say, it is just the “rub of the green”. If you clean your ball, unless you are allowed to under a specific Rule, you must replace it and you incur a one stroke penalty. Sadly, you have to wait until your ball is on the green to clean it.

Wind blowing your ball.

If on a windy day your ball is at rest anywhere on the course and it is moved by wind gusts there is no penalty and you must play the ball where it ends up. A player must be absolutely certain that they did not move the ball themselves, but there’s no penalty if the wind moves it.

I hope this helps you.
Hilary

The Hazards of Wintertime Golf.docx

Advertisements

February Rules Quiz:

Good morning Ladies:

Here’s February’s Rules quiz, enjoy……

Abnormal Ground Conditions/ Ground Under Repair, (RULE 25) Quiz

If your ball lands in an area marked as “Ground Under Repair” (GUR)

  1. Do you have take relief from GUR?

2. If you take relief is there a penalty?

3. If you take relief but your foot, club or ball still touches the GUR is that okay?

4. If your ball lands on bare bumpy ground can you decide it is Ground Under Repair?

5. May you remove the stakes and rope lining the GUR before you make your stroke?

6. Once you find your nearest point of relief from Ground Under Repair how many club lengths do you measure from that point in which to drop your ball?

7. Can you clean your ball if you lift it to take relief from GUR?

8. Your ball lies in a few yards off the putting green and GUR intervenes between your ball and the hole, are you entitled to relief?

Answers

  1. NO you do not HAVE to take relief, you may play the ball as it lies unless there is a Local Rule in effect prohibiting play, or the area is deemed as an environmentally sensitive area.

 2. NO. There is no penalty, you get FREE relief.

3. NO it is not okay. When you drop your ball and are set up to make your stroke you must have COMPLETE relief from the GUR.

If you do not you will incur a TWO stroke penalty!

 4. NO Only the Pro Shop or Tournament Committee may decide which areas are Ground Under Repair and they should be marked (Usually with white lines and sometimes also with stakes.)

 5. YES you may. The stakes are considered to be “Obstructions”. After your stroke please replace the stakes from where you removed them.

6. One club length. You may use any club in your bag to measure this one club length.

 7. YES you may.

 8. NO you cannot take relief just because the area is on your intended line of play. You may only take relief is your ball lies in or touches the GUR, interferes with your stance or the area of your intended swing.

I hope this helps you,

Hilary

<Feb Rules quiz.docx>


Roster & Calendar

2018 Roster     (as of 6/22/18)
2018 Calendar (as of 8/31/18)

Blog Stats

  • 12,859 hits
Advertisements