Currently we have area of Ground under repair in the front of several greens so here’s a quiz to remind you of the Rules.
Abnormal ground Conditions/ Ground Under Repair. (RULE 25)
If your ball lands in an area marked as “Ground Under Repair” (GUR):
- Do you have take relief from GUR?
2. If you take relief is there a penalty?
3. If you take relief but your foot, club or ball still touches the GUR is that okay?
4. If your ball lands on bare bumpy ground can you decide it is Ground Under Repair?
5. May you remove the stakes and rope lining the GUR before you make your stroke?
6. Once you find your nearest point of relief from Ground Under Repair how many club lengths do you measure from that point in which to drop your ball?
7. Can you clean your ball if you lift it to take relief from GUR?
8. If GUR is on your line of play can you get free relief?
- No you do not HAVE to take relief, you may play the ball as it lies unless there is a Local Rule in effect prohibiting play, or the area is deemed as an environmentally sensitive area.
2. There is no penalty, you get free relief.
3. No it is not okay. When you drop your ball and are set up to make your stroke you must have COMPLETE relief from the GUR. If you do not you will incur a TWO stroke penalty!
4. No, only the Pro Shop or Committee may decide which area is Ground Under Repair.
5. Yes you may. The stakes are considered to be “Obstructions”. After your stroke replace the stakes from where you removed them.
6. One club length. You may use any club in your bag to measure this one club length.
7. Yes you may.
8. No you cannot take relief just because the area is on your intended line of play.
I hope his helps you.