July Rules quiz

Hi Ladies, the July Rules quiz for you to enjoy! Yippee…….

1. Felicity marks the position of her ball on the putting green with her marker and causes her ball to move. What is the penalty?

A. One stroke penalty
B. Two stroke penalty
C. No penalty

2. Helen tees her ball on the teeing ground and while practicing her swing she knocks the ball off the tee. What is her penalty?

A. No penalty
B. One stroke penalty
C. Two stroke penalty

3. Brenda’s ball lands next to a red stake marking the margin of a lateral water hazard. Before she makes her next stroke she removes the stake as it restricts her intended swing. What is her penalty?

A. One stroke penalty
B. Two stroke penalty
C. No penalty

4. Delilah’s ball lands “in bounds” but her swing is restricted by a white out of bounds stake. Before making her next stroke she removes the stake. What is her penalty?

A. No penalty
B. One stroke penalty
C. Two stroke penalty

5. Judy asks her fellow competitor Constance to attend the flagstick. Constance is not quite awake and Judy’s ball hits the flagstick. Who gets the penalty Judy or Constance?

6. Suzie is playing hole #12 at Discovery Bay Country Club and her balls lands on the bridge over the water hazard. She grounds her club on the bridge and hits her ball onto the green. How many penalty strokes does Suzie incur?

Answers

1. C. No penalty. Rule 20-1, states if a ball, or ball marker, is accidentally moved in the process of lifting the ball, or marking its position, the ball or marker must be replaced. There is no penalty provided the movement of the ball or marker was directly attributable to the specific act of marking or lifting the ball.

2. A. No penalty. TheDefinition of a “stroke” is the forward movement of the club with the intention of striking at, and moving the ball. As the ball on the teeing ground is not in play until a “stroke” has been made, the ball may be re-teed without penalty, Rule/Decision 18-2/19.

3. C. No penalty. Under the Definition of Water Hazard stakes used to define the margins of a Water Hazard are Obstructions. Red and yellow stakes may be moved without penalty and, if your ball moves due to you moving the stake, there is no penalty but you must replace your ball. Also your ball may be cleaned when you lift it. Rule 24-1

4. C. Two stroke penalty. TheDefinition of Out of Bounds states that objects defining out of bounds are NOT Obstructions, therefore they must not be moved. If a player removes them they breaking Rule 13-2, Improving lie, Area of intended Swing, or Line of Play.

5. Sadly Judy does! She is penalized two strokes as her ball hit the attended flagstick (Rule 17-3 and Decision 17-3/2). Judy then plays the ball where it lies.

6. NONE. You may ground your club on a bridge over a water hazard. Decision 13-4/30. The bridge is an obstruction and NOT “ground in the hazard”.

I hope this helps you.
Hilary

Advertisements

0 Responses to “July Rules quiz”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




Roster & Calendar

2018 Roster     (as of 6/22/18)
2018 Calendar (as of 8/31/18)

Blog Stats

  • 12,904 hits
Advertisements

%d bloggers like this: