Archive for the 'Rules of Golf' Category



Hilary Rules Explanations

Ladies here are some questions that I have received recently about playing our course along with the answers.  I welcome your Rules questions so don’t hesitate to e mail me.

Question 1.  Earlier this year we used the local rule to “lift clean and place, fairway only”.  None of us realized that specification on hole 2 and a player move her ball in the rough and played it from there.  About 4 holes later we actually read the instructions and realized the error.  I assume a Rule is a Rule, and it is the responsibility of everyone to know the Rules, so this individual should have been penalized 2 strokes.  We did not tell the Committee or the player, and it was fortunate that this player did not win any money.  What is the Rule covering this, what should have been the penalty, and when is it too late to enforce a penalty like this?

Answer.  The player in question played her ball from a wrong place.  She lifted it where it was not allowed, put it in a different position, and played it from there.  As it was not a serious breach, meaning she did not get a significant distance advantage, she should have been penalized two strokes.  A serious breach would incur disqualification.

In stroke play normally a penalty must not be added after the competition is closed.  The Committee decides when that is.  It can be when all scorecards are signed and turned in, or when results have been announced or posted. The only time after the competition is closed that a penalty may be enforced is if the player knew they had incurred a penalty and did not record it.   Then at any time after the competition has closed they may be disqualified.

Question 2. 

One play day on hole 4 a player put a ball in the water that crosses the fairway.   Some of the group said under the new Rules she could drop on the other side, just as you can on hole 2.  I didn’t agree, thinking rules had not changed for yellow stakes.  Am I correct and it’s only where there are red stakes that one can take a lateral drop?

Would you mind sending out an email to our ladies clarifying penalty options for holes 2, 4, and 17?  There’s the drop on 17 we can use when a tee shot goes into the water but what options does a player have to play a ball that goes into the water later on 17?

Answer.  There is a common misunderstanding that the Rules for water hazards, now called penalty areas, have changed, they have not.

The USGA has become more liberal so that Clubs may line their penalty areas with red stakes where previously they were yellow stakes.  The reasoning is to speed up play and allow players to take a lateral drop, rather than the more time consuming going back in line with the pin or where last stroke was made.

The way of dropping a ball under a Rule has changed.  The height of the drop and only using the longest club in your bag, not putter, to measure the drop area, but that is the same for any drop under any Rule now.

Hole 2.  The Club decided to change the stakes from yellow to red around the penalty area (water).  Hence, if, and only if, your ball crosses the hazard on the “green-side”, hits land or sand and bounces back into the water, can you take a lateral drop on the “green-side”, at the place where your ball last crossed the hazard, no closer to the hole.

>

Hole 4.   Yellow stakes line the penalty area, (water across the fairway) so if similar event happens there as on 2 you CANNOT drop on the other side.

Similarly on hole 12 where the water crosses the fairway……….yellow stakes.  Go back in line with the pin, or where last stroke was made, drop a ball and make your next stroke from there with one penalty stroke.

Hole 17.  The Club decided to keep yellow stakes around the penalty area (water), and put in the drop zone.  If your ball goes into the penalty area from teeing area you may use the drop zone for your next stroke and take a one stroke penalty. Once you have passed the drop zone the normal Rules apply for penalty areas with yellow stakes.  Back in line with the pin or where you made your last stroke, you cannot go backwards and use the drop zone.

I hope this helps you.

Hilary

Rules Change for Discovery Bay – Clarification Hole 2 and 17 and Hand Warmers

Ladies:

 

Your Tournament Committee has asked me to cover the Rules’ situations below.

Hole #2. In compliance with the new 2019 directives from the USGA our Club decided to mark the penalty area , water, with red stakes.  This allows a player to make a lateral drop, two club lengths from where the ball last crossed the penalty area no closer to the pin.  Your ball  MUST CROSS the penalty area and then go bak into the water for you to drop on the green side.  If your ball just hits the rocks or the pilings around the bunker and bounces back into the water it has NOT crossed the penalty area.  In such a case you will have to hit again from where you last played your ball, or drop a ball inline with the pin and where it crossed the penalty area as far back as you like but  NOT green side.  All options incur a one stroke penalty.  If you incorrectly drop a ball green side you may be disqualified!

Cold hands, warm hearts.  It has been cold lately, and for those players with warm hearts but cold hands it is permissible to use a hand warmer to unfreeze your digits, however, do NOT allow your warmer to come into contact with your golf balls.  A hand warmer is classified as an “artificial device” and they not permitted to be used.  Keep your ball warmer in one pocket and your golf balls in the other pocket.

Hole 17.  I am still in discussions with Jon about this hole’s markings but currently the only change to this hole is having a “drop area”.  If your ball goes into the penalty area, water, in front of the tee box you may use the drop area for your next shot and take a one stroke penalty.  Nothing else has changed on this hole.  If you make a shot from for example the green side bunkers, the cart part, or from the green and your ball rolls over the pilings into the water currently your only option is to play again from where you made your last stroke and take a one stroke penalty.  No lateral drops close to the pilings or margin of the penalty area are allowed.

I hope this helps you.

Hilary

2019 Golf Rules Update from our Rules Chair

Below is a link to an excellent video on the 20 most important Rules changes for 2019. If you have ANY questions don’t hesitate to e mail me and ask. 

 Pace of play has ben a driving factor for many of these changes so hopefully play days may have shorter rounds for you all.  There is a new Local Rule in 2019 for “Out of Bounds and Lost ball” that the NGGA is highly recommending to be instituted at Clubs where pace of play is a serious problem.

The NCGA itself will be using this Local Rule in some of its tournaments next year.  HOWEVER,  it is up to each club to decide if they want to implement its use for play.  Our Tournament Committee, Bonnie Ladd and Donna Grover, will be looking into this for us.  It however should not be used in Club Championship play.  I have pasted a link below to this also.

Remember, any questions, just ask!

 20 New Rules

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=chPOtfLUHC0&list=RDchPOtfLUHC0&index=1

New Local Rule, OB Lost Ball

http://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules-hub/rules-modernization/major-changes/golfs-new-rules-stroke-and-distance.html

Hilary

2019 Rules Update – Part 1

These rules take affect on January 1, 2019 – Not prior to that date!  There will be additional posts over the next few weeks.

 

Ball at rest accidentally moved

There is no longer a penalty if you accidentally moving your ball, or ball marker, when it is on the putting green.  You must however replace your ball where it was before you moved it.

No longer a penalty for moving your ball during a search. The ball must be replaced, but if you don’t know the exact spot you now place the ball on its estimated spot.  The prior rule had you dropping the ball.

Ball in motion

There is no longer a penalty if your ball in motion accidentally hits you or your equipment, your caddie, the person attending the flagstick or a removed or attended flagstick.

Ball struck more than once

There is no longer a penalty if you accidentally hit your ball more than once during a stroke

Embedded ball

You may take relief for an embedded ball anywhere in the “general area” which is the new term for “through the green” but not in the sand.

Dropping a ball

You must now drop the ball straight down at “knee height”, that is the height of your knee when you are in a standing position.  You must not spin or throw the ball, and it must not hit your body or equipment.  If it does, you must redrop the ball

Last one for today, and probably one of the more surprising ones!

Loose impediments in bunkers

You are now allowed to remove loose impediments in bunkers.  Loose impediments are objects such as stones, loose grass, branches, rocks, or leaves.  You are allowed to touch the sand when doing so but you still cannot test the consistency of the sand.

 

 

August Rules Quiz

August Rules Quiz 

  1. A player’s ball lies in a hazard when any part of it touches the hazard?

True or false?

  1. It is permitted to eliminate an irregularity on the surface of the teeing ground?

True or false?

  1. There is no requirement for a player to put an identification mark on their ball?

True or false?

  1. A ball is not “Out of Bounds” unless all of the ball lies out of bounds?

True or false?

  1. A player who starts a round with 13 clubs may add one more club at any time?

True or false?

  1. How many club lengths behind the tee markers may a player tee their ball and still be within the teeing ground?

 

 

 

 

 

ANSWERS

  1. TRUE
  2. TRUE
  3. TRUE
  4. TRUE
  5. TRUE a player may add clubs up to the permitted total of 14 as long as the pace of play is not affected
  6. TWO CLUB LENGTHS, the teeing ground is defined as “a rectangular area 2 club lengths in depth defined by the outside limits of the two tee markers”.

 

Local Rules

Local rules are determined by the Rules committee, or course professional and apply to a specific tournament or regular play on the course. Local rules established by a course professional should be posted in the Pro shop and should be printed on the back of the course scorecard.

Local rules allowed by the Tournament committee may be different to the course local rules.

If any local rule is put into place that is not in accordance with the Rules of Golf players are not competing under the Rules of Golf, and if they use these local rules their scores are invalid.

Here at Discovery Bay our local rules established by our course professional are found on the back of our scorecard.

Accidental movement of ball on putting green. When a player’s ball lies on the putting green, there is no penalty if the ball or ball-marker is accidentally moved by the player, his partner, his opponent, or any of their caddies or equipment.

The moved ball or ball-marker must be replaced as provided in Rules 18-2, 18-3 and 20-1.

This Local Rule applies only when the player’s ball or ball-marker lies on the putting green and any movement is accidental.

Relief from sprinkler heads around the putting greens that interfere with your line of play. You are entitled to relief if sprinkler is within two club lengths of the putting green, and your ball is within two club lengths of the sprinkler. The ball must be DROPPED at the nearest point to where it lays that avoids the interference.

Staked trees. Relief is permitted when a player’s stance or area of intended swing is interfered with by the stake or guide wires of that tree. (Nearest point of relief plus one club length no closer to the hole.)

Bunkers right side of holes #5, 6, and 10 are designated waste bunkers and a player may ground their club.

Drop area on hole #4.

 

On our ladies play days and our ladies tournaments it is the sole discretion of our tournament committee which of the Local rules posted on the back of our scorecards they allow for play. For example, additional allowed local rules not listed on the scorecard are “Winter rules, Preferred lies” when there are wet conditions, and “relief from aeration holes” after course aeration.

Be sure to check with your Committee which local rules they allow for play days and tournaments.

 

Hilary

June Rules Quiz

  1. A player’s ball lies in a water hazard when any part of it touches the hazard?

True or false?

 

  1. It is permitted to eliminate an irregularity on the surface of the teeing ground?

True or false?

 

  1. There is no requirement for a player to put an identification mark on their ball?

 

True or false?

 

 

  1. A ball is not “Out of Bounds” unless the entire ball lies out of bounds?

True or false?

 

  1. A player who starts a round with 13 clubs may add one more club at any time?

True or false?

 

  1. How many club lengths behind the tee markers may a player tee their ball and still be within the teeing ground?

 

 

 

 

 

ANSWERS

  1. TRUE
  2. TRUE
  3. TRUE, but so you don’t accidentally hit someone else’s ball put a mark on your ball!
  4. TRUE
  5. TRUE a player may add clubs up to the permitted total of 14 as long as the pace of play is not affected
  6. TWO CLUB LENGTHS, the teeing ground is defined as “a rectangular area 2 club lengths in depth defined by the outside limits of the two tee markers”.

I hope this helps you.

Hilary

MARCH RULES QUIZ

Ladies here is the first monthly Rules quiz for 2018.  Any questions?  Don’t hesitate to e mail me.

  1. Rebecca uses her 7 iron to align her feet prior to taking her stance on the teeing ground. Before she makes her stroke at the ball she removes the club.  Should she be disqualified?

Answer

Rebecca should NOT be disqualified.  As long as she does not delay play she may align her feet this way as long as she removes the club before her stroke.

 

  1. Suzanne’s ball lies near the putting green and Dianne, who is 25 ft. away, asks her to mark and lift her ball as it interferes with her play.  Is this allowed?

Answer

Under Rule 22/2 a player can request a ball to be lifted at any time if they believe it interferes with their play.  However, in Stroke play, a player may play their ball first rather than lift it.

  1. Is there a Rule of Golf that permits taking a line of play relief from a sprinkler head at the side of the putting green?

Answer

No, BUT there is a Local Rule that permits “line of play” relief under certain conditions.  We allow such relief at Discovery Bay CC.  Look on the back of our scorecard, there you will find the Local Rule explained.

  1. Rebecca is back on the teeing ground aligning her feet but this time she also taps down uneven ground behind her ball which could interfere with her backswing.  How many penalty strokes should she incur?

Answer

NONE!  A player is allowed under Rule 13-2, to eliminate irregularities on the surface of the teeing ground without penalty.

  1. A player may always advise another player on what their options are under the Rules. True or false?

Answer

True.  Information on the Rules of Golf is NOT advice and is allowed.

  1. Lana’s ball lies just in bounds but a movable white stake is in her area of intended swing.  May she remove the stake?

Answer

NO she may not!  White “Out of Bounds” stakes are deemed to be FIXED, and a player does not get relief.  Sorry ladies.

I hope you enjoyed our first quiz of this year and it helps you.

Hilary

October Rules quiz

Hi Ladies:

Let’s have some fun with a “loose impediments “quiz and see what we know and don’t know.

Our ball is on the fairway surrounded by little pieces of cut grass. We think, “Thank goodness they’ve finally mowed the rough!” We remove them from around the ball, and we also remove one piece that’s stuck on our ball. The ball does not move. Penalty or no penalty?

Answer. No penalty for removing the grass around the ball BUT a one stroke penalty for removing the grass adhering to the ball. Rule 21/2 says that anything “adhering to the ball” is not a loose impediment. The grass is a loose impediment when it’s on the ground, not when it’s on your ball.

Your ball is on the fringe of the green and before you make your next stroke you remove some twigs, leaves, loose soil and sand from around your ball. Penalty or no penalty?

Answer.
No penalty for removing the twigs and leaves as they are loose impediments.
But a TWO STROKE penalty for removing the loose soil and sand, because here they are not “loose impediments.” You improved your lie, area of intended stance, swing or line of play. Rule 13-2.

Now you’re on the putting green. You mark your ball and, on your line of play, there’s some sand and loose soil. Can you remove them, or will it be another two stroke penalty?

Answer. Here on the putting green sand and loose soils ARE loose impediments so you can remove them. Rule 16-1
Go figure who decided this, and what DO they have against loose soil and sand eh?

Your ball lies on the fairway and a live insect is on your ball, can you remove it?

Yes, because unlike the grass in question #1, it is not considered to be adhering to your ball as it has legs and can walk and therefore is a “loose impediment”. BUT if your ball moves while removing the pesky critter you get a one stroke penalty and have to replace your ball. If your ball moves and you don’t replace it it’s a two stroke penalty.

Same ball, same insect, now in a bunker. Can you remove the insect?

NO. Even though he/she is a loose impediment it is “in the bunker” and it’s forbidden to move loose impediments in a bunker.
However, as it is capable of moving on its own you may wave your hand over it, or blow on it to encourage it to fly away on its own. If you remove the insect with your fingers you will be penalized TWO STROKES under Rule 13-4c.

I hope this helps you.

Hilary

loose impediments quiz.docx

Match Play Info

Here is the handout that was given to those that attended the rules seminar in Oakdale on Wednesday. I have been asked to forward it to all team members. It is worthwhile reading!
Sandy

Match Play Rule Presentation.


Roster & Calendar

 

Roster     (as of 3/6/21)
Calendar (as of 1/16/21)

Recent Minutes

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 17,468 hits