February Rules Quiz

  • 1. The proper height to drop a ball is knee height. What is the penalty if you drop from a different height?
    • A. No penalty; just redrop correctly
    • B. A two stroke penalty
    • C. A one stroke penalty
  • 2. A player’s ball lies in a penalty area. Which of the following is the player allowed to do?
    • A. Move loose impediments
    • B. Ground their club
    • C. Take practice swings
  • 3. Where is a player allowed to take relief for an embedded ball?
    • A. In a bunker
    • B. In the fairway
    • C. In the rough
  • 4. What is the penalty for accidentally hitting your ball twice when making a stroke?
    • A. One stroke penalty
    • B. Two stroke penalty
    • C. No penalty
  • 5. What is the penalty if you lift your ball to see if it is cracked, to identify it, or see if it is embedded, and you fail to inform the players you are with before you lift it?
    • A. One stroke penalty
    • B. No penalty
  • 6. What is the penalty if your ball accidentally hits another player or their equipment?
    • A. One stroke
    • B. No penalty
    • C. Two strokes
  • ANSWERS
  • 1. A. Redrop correctly from knee height with no penalty; however, if you fail to redrop and play your ball, you will incur a one stroke penalty.
  • 2. Since 2019, A, B, and C are all allowed.
  • 3. B and C. Rule 16.3 allows relief for an embedded ball anywhere in the General Area, except when embedded in a bunker.
  • 4. C. No penalty, Rule 10.1a. There is no penalty, and the ball is played where it lies.
  • 5. B. No penalty. The emphasis under the Rules is to generally rely on the integrity of the player. This change should speed up play, but the player must have a good reason to lift her ball.
  • 6. B. No penalty. Under Rule 11.1. The exception is if the player’s ball hits another ball at rest on the putting green, and both balls were on the putting green before the stroke; then, there is the General penalty of two strokes.

Author: kaybarg

Webmaster in training.

%d bloggers like this: