Two recent Rules questions (Hilary)

Hi all.

I have been asked these question many times lately so I thought I’d send the answer out in an e mail.

When you are on the putting green can you address your ball with your club behind it and then put the club down in front of the ball before you make your stroke?

Rule 16a (ii) the player may place the club in front of the ball when addressing it, provided he does not press anything down. If it appears that you are pressing anything down you will be penalized two stroke for improving your line, so be very careful if you do this.

The other quesstion I’ve been getting is can you hit your ball with the back of your club?

Rule 14-1 The ball must be fairly struck at with the head of the club and must not be pushed or scraped.

14-1/1The player may play a stroke with ANY part of the clubhead provided the ball is fairly struck. You cannot push the ball but must hit it.

I hope this helps you.

Hilary

Advertisements

0 Responses to “Two recent Rules questions (Hilary)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




Roster & Calendar

 

2019 Roster     (as of 1/14/19)
2019 Calendar (as of 1/14/19)

Blog Stats

  • 13,455 hits
Advertisements

%d bloggers like this: