Golf “Survey says” Hole #12

Hi Ladies:


"Survey says" hole #12

OK, this hole is almost over, whew. We are on problem area #2 of three. I know I said previously short, concise and no rule numbers but
sadly I cannot make this any shorter.

What should you do if your shot from the fairway on hole #12 flies over the green and you think your ball may have landed 
in the ice plants behind the green?


As this area is not Out of Bounds and you do not know the exact place where your ball landed it is possible that you ball "may" be LOST or UNPLAYABLE.
You are allowed to play a Provisional ball from where you made your stroke, but be sure to inform your fellow players that is what you are doing.

If you find your original ball and it is PLAYABLE, pick up your Provisional ball and play on. No penalty.

If, after a five minute search, you cannot find your original ball then it is LOST.  Play your Provisional ball and take a ONE STROKE penalty.

If you find your original ball in the ice plants and you cannot make a stroke at it without altering your area of intended swing by moving the ice plants, or 
unnecessarily pressing them down when you take your stance then you declare your ball UNPLAYABLE.

You take a ONE STROKE penalty and your options are:

Play your Provisional ball, because under the Unplayable ball Rule you are allowed to hit from where you made your last stroke, and you have done that already.

If your ball is visible and IF, AND ONLY IF when you measure your ball's distance from the cart path a measurement of two club lengths* would make your
ball touch the cart path, you may
drop a ball on the cart path within this two club lengths. You may then take your nearest point of relief from the path and
drop a ball onto the grass beside the path, no closer to the hole.

To speed up play you may just find your nearest point of relief on the grass and drop a ball there, no closer to the hole.

*Please note: If you ball is further back from the path in the ice plants than two club lengths you will have to take multiple drops, and one stroke penalties,
until your ball is on the cart path. Not worth it!The third option for the Unplayable Rule is really not a feasible one in this situation. Going back far back as you like, in line with the pin, would just put you
further back up the hill into the plants, and you would have to drop a ball back into the ice plants
!

The last "Survey says" problem for hole #12 I'll be sending out shortly........watch your e mail!

Hilary

Advertisements

0 Responses to “Golf “Survey says” Hole #12”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




Roster & Calendar

 

2019 Roster     (as of 1/14/19)
2019 Calendar (as of 1/14/19)

Blog Stats

  • 14,212 hits
Advertisements

%d bloggers like this: