These rules take affect on January 1, 2019 – Not prior to that date! There will be additional posts over the next few weeks.
Ball at rest accidentally moved
There is no longer a penalty if you accidentally moving your ball, or ball marker, when it is on the putting green. You must however replace your ball where it was before you moved it.
No longer a penalty for moving your ball during a search. The ball must be replaced, but if you don’t know the exact spot you now place the ball on its estimated spot. The prior rule had you dropping the ball.
Ball in motion
There is no longer a penalty if your ball in motion accidentally hits you or your equipment, your caddie, the person attending the flagstick or a removed or attended flagstick.
Ball struck more than once
There is no longer a penalty if you accidentally hit your ball more than once during a stroke
You may take relief for an embedded ball anywhere in the “general area” which is the new term for “through the green” but not in the sand.
Dropping a ball
You must now drop the ball straight down at “knee height”, that is the height of your knee when you are in a standing position. You must not spin or throw the ball, and it must not hit your body or equipment. If it does, you must redrop the ball
Last one for today, and probably one of the more surprising ones!
Loose impediments in bunkers
You are now allowed to remove loose impediments in bunkers. Loose impediments are objects such as stones, loose grass, branches, rocks, or leaves. You are allowed to touch the sand when doing so but you still cannot test the consistency of the sand.